The Palace of the Dukes of Braganza (Paço dos Duques de Bragança) is located in the very heart of Guimarães. It was the home to the first Dukes of Braganza from the 1420s. The palace fell into disrepair after the 16th century when the duke moved to Vila Viçosa. This decline was accelerated when the locals began to use the palace as their personal quarry to build there own homes.
The palace became classified as a National Monument in 1910 and has been much restored towards its former glory.