The Igreja do Carmo is one of the finest and most recognisable churches in Porto. Designed by José de Figueiredo Seixas in the Baroque style, and much influenced by the master architect Nicolau Nasoni, the church was built in the 1760s. This is apparent on the main facade of the church, but it is the side wall which has made this one of the icons of Porto.
Surprisingly the blue and white azulejos were only added in 1912 - it must have been a quite austere looking wall until then. They are the work of artist Silvestro Silvestri and were made across the river in Vila Nova de Gaia. The artwork on the tiles depicts the founding of the Carmelite Order and Mount Carmel.